Learning From Mistakes

https://www.edutopia.org/blog/use-mistakes-in-learning-process-richard-curwin

Reading other blogs I came across this great article about teaching with mistakes.  I relate this to the discussion forum we are currently in regarding praise and feedback how it affects our students when we react to mistakes.

When I’m teaching clinic days the students are always in a scenario situation which gives them the opportunity to practice, assess, get and give feedback.  I know when mistakes are made and I see that, I always try to get them to identify it and resolve it on their own. Much learning can be done this way because this is what works for me. It gives a deeper understanding of the practice involved and enforces critical thinking skills. They are usually working in pairs so one mistake can be learned and resolved by two people.

It really is about finding value in the error and making it work for you rather than against you.

