Praise and Feedback

Our most recent discussion forum has brought to light some great insight!  The difference between praise and feedback and how it can be used in my classroom as a teaching strategy.  Its something I never really gave much thought to until now. In my class/clinic I always give positive constructive feedback and praise where its earned.

What deserves earning praise?  Students who set an example of capability that is explained and demonstrated, or show a willingness to do both.  Praise can be used as a tool for providing confidence to the students who need it, but I think there is a balance to using both.  As instructors we need to assess our students who would benefit the most from either.

I have to share this video, it was posted on the forum and even though it was showing primary school children it captures what it means and how to teach giving feedback.

